Front Page News

Arapahoe hosts annual spelling bee

DSC_0127“Transect, T-R-A-N-S-E-C-T, Transect.” That was the winning word in the annual Furnas County Scripps Spelling Bee held at the Ella Missing Community Center in Arapahoe on Wednesday, February 18th.

Emily Donovan of Southern Valley spelled the winning word correctly in the twelfth round to become the Furnas County representative in Omaha on March 14th.

Approximately 40 students from Southern Valley, Cambridge, and Arapahoe participated in the written round of the spelling bee.  Each student had to write out 50 words. Some of the words used in the written round included: Flambé, Jettison, Dromedary, abysmal, Firmament, and guffaw.

At the end of the round, the top 10 spellers were picked to move on to the oral round. Arapahoe student Leslie Hillman won the top spot in the written spot. The top ten finishers were:

Leslie Hillman – Arapahoe

Juliana Hampton – Cambridge

Shane Horwart –Cambridge

Bobby Evans – Cambridge

Karinne Jurey – Cambridge

Emily Donovan – Southern Valley

Abbie Andrews – Cambridge

Mariah Watson – Arapahoe

Olivia Taylor – Cambridge

Colton Hearn – Arapahoe

In the first round of oral competition, two students were eli-minated. Round four claimed three students as well.  The word that tripped up Shane Horwart in round 11 was knavery.

The placing of the oral round was:

1-Emily Donovon

2- Shane Horwart

3- Abbie Andrews

4- Karinne Jurey

5- Juliana Hampton

6- Mariah Watson

7- Bobby Evans

8- Colton Hearn

9 – Olivia Taylor

10- Leslie Hillman

The winner of the Omaha competition will represent Nebraska in the Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington D.C. starting on May 24th.

Furnas County Livestock Assoc. banquet

The Furnas County Livestock Association’s banquet will be held on Saturday, February 28th beginning at 6:30 p.m. at the Cambridge High School.

Entertainment for the evening will be provided by Fun Pianos! by 176 Keys.  This group has been touring for 11 years and have performed at seven official Husker Huddle pre-game tailgate parties for Husker road games, the Gator Bowl, the Super Bowl and for s special after-party for hte Team Jack fundraising gala in Lincoln.  Their performance is a lot of comedy and interaction over rock and and country music.  No matter your age, if you like to laugh, you’ll have a good time.

Members of the Furnas County Livestock Association directors are Chuck Eubanks, David Becker, Bruce Blickenstaff, Jason Houghtelling, Mike Huxoll, Bart Deterding, Bill Weaver and Cory Tegetman.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: